SEATTLE CITY COUNCIL

600 Fourth Ave. 2nd Floor Seattle, WA 98104



Journal of the Proceedings of the Seattle City Council

Monday, January 27, 2025

9:30 AM

Special Meeting

Council Chamber, City Hall 600 4th Avenue Seattle, WA 98104

City Council

Sara Nelson, Council President
Joy Hollingsworth, Member
Robert Kettle, Member
Cathy Moore, Member
Alexis Mercedes Rinck, Member
Maritza Rivera, Member
Rob Saka, Member
Mark Solomon, Member
Dan Strauss, Member

Chair Info: 206-684-8809; Sara.Nelson@seattle.gov

A. CALL TO ORDER

The City Council of The City of Seattle met in Special Session on January 27, 2025, pursuant to the provisions of the City Charter. The meeting was called to order at 9:56 a.m., with Council President Nelson presiding.

B. ROLL CALL

Present: 8 - Hollingsworth, Kettle, Moore, Nelson, Rinck, Rivera, Saka, Strauss

C. PUBLIC COMMENT

By unanimous consent, the Council Rules were suspended to allow Public Comment at the Special City Council Meeting.

The following individuals addressed the Council:

Lisa Nitze

Eve Keller

Carl Heglond

John Fandel

Joan Oltman-Shay

Jack

Corinne Scowcroft

Rev. Harriet Walden

Kirsten Dedro

Yvette Dinish

At 10:18 a.m., the Special City Council meeting recessed until 10:30 a.m.

At 10:47 a.m., the January 23, 2025, Special City Council meeting came back to order.

Present: 8 - Hollingsworth, Kettle, Moore, Nelson, Rinck, Rivera, Saka, Strauss

Deaunte Damper David Haines Angela Poe Russell Naomi See Lois Martin Gabriel Prawl

D. APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

By unanimous consent, the Agenda was adopted.

E. ITEM OF BUSINESS

Selection of Candidate for City Council District 2

ACTION 1:

Motion was made by Council President Nelson, duly seconded and carried, to establish the voting procedure to appoint City Council District Position 2.

ACTION 2:

Motion was made by Council President Nelson, duly seconded and carried, to nominate all six finalists as candidates to fill City Council District Position 2 until a candidate in the November 2025 general election for Position 2 is elected and qualified.

In favor: 8 - Hollingsworth, Kettle, Moore, Rinck, Rivera, Saka, Strauss,

Nelson

Opposed: - None

ACTION 3:

On Roll Call, the following votes on nominees were made:

Round 1:

Adonis Ducksworth - 2 (Kettle, Strauss)

Edward Lin - 1 (Rinck)

Chukundi Salisbury - 1 (Hollingsworth)

Mark Solomon - 4 (Moore, Nelson, Rivera, Saka)

Round 2:

Adonis Ducksworth - 2 (Kettle, Strauss)

Edward Lin - 1 (Rinck)

Chukundi Salisbury - 1 (Hollingsworth)

Mark Solomon - 4 (Moore, Nelson, Rivera, Saka)

Round 3:

Adonis Ducksworth - 3 (Kettle, Rinck, Strauss)

Chukundi Salisbury - 1 (Hollingsworth)

Mark Solomon - 4 (Mo ore, Nelson, Rivera, Saka)

<u>Action 4:</u> By unanimous consent, the Council adopted a motion to consider an amendment to the voting procedure in Action 1.

Action 5: Motion was made by Councilmember Nelson, duly seconded and carried, to amend the voting procedure in Action 1, to eliminate

nominees who received 2 or less votes.

In favor: 8 - Hollingsworth, Kettle, Moore, Rinck, Rivera, Saka, Strauss,

Nelson

Opposed: - None

Round 4:

Adonis Ducksworth - 3 (Kettle, Rinck, Strauss) Chukundi Salisbury - 1 (Hollingsworth)

Mark Solomon - 4 (Moore, Nelson, Rivera, Saka)

Round 5:

Adonis Ducksworth - 3 (Kettle, Rinck, Strauss)
Mark Solomon - 5 (Hollingsworth, Moore, Nelson, Rivera, Saka)

Mark Solomon received a majority vote and was elected and appointed to fill City Council District Position 2 until certification of the November 4, 2025 general election.

Council President Nelson invited Mark Solomon to the podium to seek confirmation of Mark Solomon's acceptance of the position. Mr. Solomon accepted the appointment to City Council District Position 2.

The Oath of Office was administered to Mark Solomon by Scheereen Dedman, City Clerk, and then Councilmember Solomon addressed the Council.

F. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before the Council, the meeting was adjourned at 11:52 a.m.

Jodee Schwinn, Deputy City Clerk
Signed by me in Open Session, upon approval of the Council, on February 4, 2025.
Sara Nelson, Council President of the City Council