

Legislation Text

File #: Res 31776, Version: 1

CITY OF SEATTLE

RESOLUTION

A RESOLUTION relating to the selection of a Chair, Vice-Chairs, and membership for the Select Budget Committee in 2017.
WHEREAS, Resolution 31643 established the committee structure, membership, meeting times, and duties of the standing committees of the Seattle City Council for 2016 and 2017, including assignment of public development authorities to standing committees for general oversight and review; and
WHEREAS, pursuant to the General Rules and Procedures of the City Council, Rule VII.H, as adopted by Resolution 31639 and amended by Resolution 31659, the Select Budget Committee is a select committee comprised of all Councilmembers and chaired by the Chair of the Finance Committee; and
WHEREAS, former Councilmember Tim Burgess chaired the Affordable Housing, Neighborhoods and Finance ("Finance") Committee, and as Chair of the Finance Committee; Councilmember Burgess was also the Chair of the Select Budget Committee; and
WHEREAS, Councilmember Lisa Herbold is Vice-Chair of the Finance Committee; Councilmember Rob Johnson is a member of the Finance Committee, and Councilmember Mike O'Brien is an alternate member of the Finance Committee; and

- WHEREAS, the Chair of the Select Budget Committee became vacant when Councilmember Tim Burgess took the oath to become Mayor on September 18, 2017; and
- WHEREAS, a two-thirds vote of the Full Council in open session is required to pass a motion to suspend Council General Rules and Procedures; and

WHEREAS, on September 25, 2017, the Full Council approved by a two-thirds supermajority a motion to

temporarily suspend Rule VII.H.1 of the General Rules and Procedures of the City Council, as it relates to establishing the Chair of the Select Budget Committee, through December 31, 2017, and by such action ended the requirement that the Chair of the Finance Committee be the Chair of the Select Budget Committee; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SEATTLE THAT:

Section 1. It is hereby resolved that Councilmember Lisa Herbold is the Chair of the Select Budget Committee through December 31, 2017; Councilmember Rob Johnson is First Vice-Chair; and Councilmember Mike O'Brien is Second Vice-Chair. All remaining Councilmembers are members of the Select Budget Committee.

Section 2. In the event that Councilmember Lisa Herbold is unavailable to serve as Chair of a Select Budget Committee meeting, Councilmember Rob Johnson will serve as Chair of the Select Budget Committee. In the event that both Councilmember Lisa Herbold and Councilmember Rob Johnson are unavailable to serve as Chair of a Select Budget Committee meeting, Councilmember Mike O'Brien will serve as Chair of the Select Budget Committee Meeting.

Adopted by the City Council the da	ay of	_, 2017, and signed by
me in open session in authentication of its adoption t	his day of	, 2017.

President _____ of the City Council

Filed by me this ______ day of ______, 2017.

Monica Martinez Simmons, City Clerk

(Seal)