SEATTLE CITY COUNCIL

600 Fourth Ave. 2nd Floor Seattle, WA 98104



Journal of the Proceedings of the Seattle City Council

Friday, January 12, 2024 11:00 AM

Special Meeting - Session I at 11 a.m. & Session II at 2 p.m.

Council Chamber, City Hall 600 4th Avenue Seattle, WA 98104

City Council

Sara Nelson, Council President
Joy Hollingsworth, Member
Robert Kettle, Member
Cathy Moore, Member
Tammy J. Morales, Member
Maritza Rivera, Member
Rob Saka, Member
Dan Strauss, Member
Tanya Woo, Member

Chair Info: 206-684-8809; Sara.Nelson@seattle.gov

SESSION 1 - 11:00 a.m.

A. CALL TO ORDER

The City Council of The City of Seattle met in Special Session on January 12, 2024, pursuant to the provisions of the City Charter. The meeting was called to order at 11:11 a.m., with Council President Nelson presiding.

B. ROLL CALL

Present: 7 - Kettle, Moore, Morales, Nelson, Rivera, Saka, Strauss

Late Arrival: 1 - Hollingsworth

C. APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Motion was made, duly seconded and carried, to adopt the proposed Agenda.

D. EXECUTIVE SESSION*

At 11:13 a.m., Council President Nelson announced that the Council would convene in Executive Session to Evaluate the Qualifications of Candidates for Appointment to Elective Office to fill the City Council At-Large Position 8 vacancy, previously held by Councilmember Teresa Mosqueda, for an estimated length of 60 minutes.

At 12:13 p.m., the Executive Session was extended to 12:30 p.m. At 12:30 p.m., the Executive Session was extended to 12:40 p.m.

The Executive Session concluded at 12:40 p.m.

The Special City Council meeting was called back to order at 12:44 p.m.

Present: 7 - Kettle, Moore, Morales, Nelson, Rivera, Saka, Strauss

Absent: 1 - Hollingsworth

By unanimous consent, the City Council meeting was in recess until 2:00 p.m.

SESSION II - 2:00 p.m.

ROLL CALL

The January 12, 2024 Special City Council meeting was called back to order at 2:01 p.m.

Present: 7 - Hollingsworth, Kettle, Morales, Nelson, Rivera, Saka, Strauss

Late Arrival: 1 - Moore

Councilmember Moore joined the meeting at 2:03 p.m.

E. PUBLIC COMMENT

By unanimous consent, the Council Rules were suspended to allow Public Comment at this Special Meeting.

The following individuals addressed the Council:

Clifford Cawthon

Ray Dubicki

Betty Lau

Amy Chen Lozano

Bettie Luke

Askari Addison

Gei Chan

Sue Mar

Jasmeet Singh

Tija Petrovich

Mika Rothman

David Haines

Matt Malloy

Genevieve Courtney

Gary Lee

Debadutta Dash

Henry Lee

Kim-Khanh Van

F. ITEMS OF BUSINESS

1. Selection of Community Organization to Host Public Forum

Motion was made by Council President Nelson duly seconded and carried, to select Seattle City Club as the community organization to host the public forum.

2. Selection of City Council Vacancy Position 8 Finalists

ACTION 1:

Motion was made by Council President Nelson and duly seconded to adopt a voting procedure as follows:

The Council President will open the nominations to select City Council Position 8 finalists;

Councilmembers will be called in order of this week's City Council roll call:

Each Councilmember will have the opportunity to provide comments and then nominate no more than one applicant and does not require a second:

If a Councilmember's preferred nominee has already been nominated, the Councilmember is not required to designate an additional nominee but will have the opportunity to offer a name to the list of finalists; Once each Councilmember has had the opportunity to select an applicant, the nominations are closed, and the nominated applicants will move forward for consideration in the appointment process.

ACTION 2:

Motion was made by Councilmember Strauss and duly seconded to amend the voting procedure in Action 1 by allowing Councilmembers to nominate additional names and not exceed a total of eight nominees.

The Motion failed by the following vote:

In favor: 3 - Hollingsworth, Morales, Strauss

Opposed: 5 - Kettle, Moore, Nelson, Rivera, Saka

ACTION 3:

The Motion in Action 1 was restated and carried by the following vote:

In favor: 8 - Hollingsworth, Kettle, Moore, Morales, Nelson, Rivera, Saka,

Strauss

Opposed: None

Nominations to Select Finalists to fill Position 8

Council President Nelson opened nominations and the following applicants were nominated to move forward for consideration:

Tanya Woo - Councilmember Kettle
Neha Nariya - Councilmember Moore
Mari Sugiyama - Councilmember Morales
Juan J. Cotto - Councilmember - Rivera
Mark Solomon - Councilmember Saka
Vivian Song - Councilmember Strauss
Linh Thai - Councilmember Hollingsworth
Steven K. Strand - Council President Nelson

Council President Nelson closed the nominations.

G. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before the Council, the meeting was adjourned at 3:40 p.m.

Jodee Schwinn, Deputy City Clerk	
Signed by me in Open Session, upon approval of the Council,	on February 13, 2024.
Sara Nelson, Council President of the City Council	